Playing Chess On a Computer vs. Over the Board (OTB)

Recently, I have been reading several of the chess blogs and have noticed an increase in sshot-0.0.5the discussions involving the benefits of playing chess on a computer (or online) vs. playing chess “over the board” or “OTB”.  Considering the strong opinions of the various writers, I do not think that this is an argument that will be quickly or easily solved.  I see merits in both arguments. In fact, the merits in favor of both lead me to the conclusion that both forms of chess are not just helpful, but necessary.

It seems that both forms of chess teach different aspects of the game, with the net result of the player becoming better.  It is perhaps better to learn the technical aspects of the game playing with a computer with an analysis board that helps you to understand the merits of the various moves.  However, playing live with a 3 dimensional board gives a very different view of the game – with the added component of a visible human opponent.  Never underestimate the psychological aspects of the game – especially for a beginner.

Here at MyChessSet.com, we recommend that you play both.  Purchase a good chess program like Fritz XI or Chessmaster XI and start playing.  Or you could join a good chess forum with online play options.  I like Chess.com.  But do not stop there.  Purchase a chess set and start playing.  If you cannot find or convince someone to play with you, then use your computer and follow along with your chess set.  This will allow you to see the game as it would look like OTB.  Each option excels at teaching different critical aspects of the game.

By the way, my wife told me to tell you that she loves me – and I am very glad that she does.  I love her too.

Thanks for taking the time to read this.

The Support Team at MyChessSet.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment